Home Papers Reports Projects Code Fragments Dissertations Presentations Posters Proposals Lectures given Course notes

VRT MPG Project

Peter Schelkens1 - peter.schelkens@vub.ac.be
Bart Wouters2+
Werner Van Belle2+ - werner@yellowcouch.org, werner.van.belle@gmail.com
Rudy Lauwereins3 - rudy.lauwereins@imec.be
Jan Cornelis1 - jpcornel@etro.vub.ac.be
Theo D'Hondt2+ - tjdhondt@vub.ac.be
Lode Nachtergaele3+ - lode.nachtergaele@imec.be
Kris Van Bruwaene4*+ - kris.vanbruwaene@vrt.be
Harry Sorgeloos4* - harry.sorgeloos@vrt.be

1- Onderzoeksgroep IRIS; Departement Elektronica en Informatieverwerking (ETRO); Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB); Pleinlaan 2, 1050 Brussel; Belgium
2- Programming Technology Lab (PROG) Department of Computer Science (DINF) Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB); Pleinlaan 2; 1050 Brussel; Belgium
3- Design Technology for Integrated Information and Communication Systems (DESICS) ; IMEC; Kapeldreef 75; 3001 Heverlee; Belgium
4- Vlaamse Radio & Televisie (VRT); Auguste Reyerslaan 52, 1043 Brussel; Belgium
* Corresponding author; + Equal Contribution

Abstract :  The research project is part of a transition toward a content-management system. This content management system should be able to manage all new and old media. This includes images, sound, text, graphics, games and interactive scenario's...). The development of a content management system implies a transition toward digital media. The MPG project is on one track responsible for doing this conversion, in such a way that releasing media on future communication channels (such as games via television) is facilitated (IMEC). On a second track all this media-content should be easily retrievable and automatically accessibly throughout whole the corporation. Therefore research is being conducted in component-based systems and ontologies (PROG). The total budget of this project is 2'478'940 EUR.

Keywords:  mpg transition next generation broadcasting vrt
Reference:  Peter Schelkens, Bart Wouters, Werner Van Belle, Rudy Lauwereins, Jan Cornelis, Theo D'Hondt, Lode Nachtergaele, Kris Van Bruwaene, Harry Sorgeloos; VRT MPG Project; May 2001

Content not online